Inspiration: Rwandan Traditional Dance: Intore


 

I recently discovered that I can trace some of my lineage all the way back to Rwanda! I’m so excited and have been researching the history and rich culture and definitely have plans to visit the country. I have fallen in love with the traditional dance, Intore, and now I want to learn! I am careful not to refer to what they are wearing as costumes because I think it is more than that so I say that the traditional dress worn for this sacred occasion is absolutely beautiful. I love the women’s sashes and dresses and the skirts and straps the men wear for this. In this video, the women do a beautiful dance in the beginning (that I want to learn!) that soothes you and then around 6 minutes in, the drums start playing and rouses and excites your soul! I love that women are playing the drums too because I think traditionally, only the men would play the drums. If I have any Rwandan readers, please correct me if I’m wrong.

The video is about 15 minutes long but it’s worth every minute to view this and hear the drums and singing. It did something to me; at one point I started to cry a little even. It’s so heart warming to know more about where my ancestors came from and their culture and all. I feel like a whole new world of myself just opened up to me.

Be prepared to see more posts about Rwanda because it’s very inspiring for me and I want to share the beauty of the culture and people that I am discovering. Rwanda is more than just the genocide back in 1994 and Hotel Rwanda.

3 thoughts on “Inspiration: Rwandan Traditional Dance: Intore

  1. In Rwanda there is such a vivid culture, and the dances .. unfortunately I lack of knowledge too in such an important component of many African cultures. But there is always time to learn it. Also, even it is said to the point of nausea, I do believe that Africans have this sort of rhythm sense inside their blood. Actually it is more than simply dancing. This is the great misconception made here in the West about it. Go and continue in discovering your heritage.

    • Ian thank you so much for responding. I couldn’t agree more about that instinctual rhythm many, if not all, African cultures have. Watching this dance I was moved to tears, I felt something so great in it. It’s definitely more than dancing and I’m so excited to learn more about my heritage.

  2. Pingback: I’m Learning Kinyarwanda |

Leave a Reply

