Theater // Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater


20121219-133915.jpg

I spontaneously bought a ticket last week to see the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater last night at the NY City Center. I took a modern dance history class in college and one of the dancer/choreographers that I was never able to forget about was the magical Alvin Ailey. I vowed to see dancers in his company perform live one day and I finally did!

The performance was nothing short of amazing. Alvin Ailey dance movements are so “angular” and precise yet are liquid and all flow together. They require strength and grace at the same time. its beautiful. Now I was super excited to see Ailey’s most recognized, “Revelations”, bc i just love the performance and the costumes. Wade in the Water and Rocka my Soul are my absolute fav segments from “Revelations” and they kilt it last night. I also fell in love with “Episodes” which was choreographed by the late Ulysses Dove. Wow. It was great. It inspired me to research him and his work.

Overall, I absolutely loved the performance. The precision, passion and skill the dancers had was inspiring and amazing. They made me want to get up and dance but I knew better. Lol. I went by myself bc I just had to see it and I’m glad I did. This will NOT be my last time seeing an Alvin Ailey performance!

They have a few more days left in NYC, they are here till the 30th. See if you can still get a ticket. You will not be disappointed!

Visit the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater site for more details.

20121219-134717.jpg

2 thoughts on “Theater // Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Leave a Reply

