Cooking Chronicles // Slow Cooker Meatless Chili


It’s fall and in the cooler weather, I crave comfort foods that are warm, hearty and “stick to your bones”. I wanted to make chili last weekend but my schedule didn’t allow so I decided to make some last night in my slow cooker and let it cook overnight. I adapted Debbie’s Crock Pot Chili recipe from Food.com to create mine.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Russet potatoes
  • 1 (15 oz) can of Tomato sauce
  • 2 cans of Diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of Black beans
  • 1 can of Pinto beans (I didn’t have any northern beans on me)
  • 4 Tablespoons of Chili powder
  • 1 1/2 Teaspoons of Garlic powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Cayenne pepper
  • 1 Teaspoon of Italian seasoning

Wash and cube potatoes. Dump everything (you can drain the beans first before adding if you like, I didn’t though.) into the slow cooker, stir it to mix up the contents and let cook on low for 6-8 hours. Eat alone or serve over rice. Makes about 4-6 servings. Enjoy!

I like to eat my chili with rice so I made some jasmine rice to go with it and I also made cheddar bay biscuits (I’ll share that recipe in another post). Easy, tasty and perfect comfort food for a fall day. This was my first time making chili and I’m happy with the results. I will definitely be making it again. I plan to play around more with chili variations. There were some spices the original recipe called for that I didn’t have on hand (like cumin, oregano and coriander) so I’d like to make it again using them to see the difference in flavor.

Leave a Reply

