Healthy Beauty // Make Your Own Eye Cream


Only two ingredients needed. How refreshing is that? I was interested in using a more natural ingredient eye cream and I learned of this easy recipe via Ramblings of a Happy Homemaker through Pinterest. If you follow me on Instagram then you know that I just made it earlier this week and am giving it a try. So far I like it. It’s too soon to tell anything significant yet, but I must say it does make my eye area feel nice and supple. The area around your eyes is very sensitive and dries out very easily so keeping that area moisturized is important.  Moisturized skin is healthy, and in turn, beautiful skin.

Both Vitamin E and coconut oil are chock full of antioxidants that help protect against the sun’s uv rays and the free radicals in the air so it’s perfect for our sensitive eye areas.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • Coconut oil
  • Vitamin E oil or vitamin E softgels
  • Small screw top container (I got mine from a beauty supply store for about $1)

I only make a small batch since, you don’t use very much and for such a small area; a little will take you a long way. Coconut oil becomes solid at 76 degrees Fahrenheit and under so if it is solid, you can warm it up in the microwave or it a pot of boiling water until it becomes a liquid consistency. Put coconut oil in the container. It’s best if you don’t fill it all the way to the top, leave some room. This container is small so I broke open 4 Vitamin E soft gel capsules (using a sewing pin). Mix with a toothpick, screw top on and you’re good to go. I keep mine stored in the fridge when not in use but you don’t have to.

HOW I USE IT

Like (most) any other eye creams, I use this at night. I wash and oil my face (I use the oil cleansing method) and gently massage it into my lid and under eye area for both eyes. That’s it. I should document if I see any change. Hmm…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

