Mixtress Chronicles:: My Aloe-Honey Conditioner


When it comes to my hair, I used to be a huge product junkie. I’ve tried a lot of different conditioners and I always found my way back to my homemade aloe-honey conditioner. I created it when I first went natural. I was trying different things and learned that my hair liked aloe vera gel, (light) oils and honey so I thought why not create something that uses all three in one shot? Best thing I could have created: It softens and smoothes my hair and has great slip for detangling. Any of you with afro textured or loose curly hair know how essential that last part is in a conditioner. Keep reading to see how I make and use it:

INGREDIENTS:

  • Aloe vera gel
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Honey (one squirt of)

That’s it. Only 3 ingredients. I don’t use exact measurements but the mix is mainly aloe vera gel. I add a little grapeseed oil and mix the two. The mixture should look smooth and creamy, if it doesn’t add a little more oil. Then add a squirt of honey and mix again and it’s ready to use. A batch for me is usually between 12-14 fl oz (I put it in a plastic jar that I used up all the product- yay recycling!) and lasts me a few washes. Store it in the fridge or in a dry cool area.

HOW I USE IT:

I detangle my hair before I wash it. I divide my hair into 6 sections and, one section at a time, I apply it to my hair and comb it through with my $0.99 shower comb and two strand twist the section. Once I’ve applied it to each section, I let it sit for 10-15 minutes, rinse and continue on with my washing routine.

This conditioner is for any hair type but those with afro texture or loose curly hair may like it especially.

You can tweak this recipe by using a different oil. My hair really responds to grapeseed oil so that’s what I mainly use. I’ve also done this mix with coconut oil  and other times with EVOO with good results so use whatever oil that you like.

Happy mixing.

2 thoughts on “Mixtress Chronicles:: My Aloe-Honey Conditioner

Leave a Reply

