What’s For Lunch:: Open Faced Grilled Cheese


It could also be a toasted cheese since I made it in the toaster oven. Last Sunday, I had a simple grilled cheese for lunch but decided to keep the sandwich open and I toasted it in my toaster oven. This quick and easy dish is my go to lunch (or dinner. Eek!) option  when I’m stumped on what I want to make or don’t want to spend a lot of time cooking up a meal.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread
  • Butter
  • Garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
  • 2 slices of Muenster cheese (I use Trader Joe’s brand)

Apply desired amount of butter to one side of both pieces. An alternative to butter is to brush some EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) onto the bread. Next sprinkle on garlic powder and italian seasoning to your liking (it may take trial and error to decipher what’s a good amount for you) and rub it into the buttered bread. Break the cheese into pieces so that it will fit on each piece (I do this so that when it melts it’s not dripping over the bread. Breaking it up into pieces and positioning it on the bread keeps the cheese within “its territory”) You can place your cheese on the plain or buttered side of the bread. Then place the slices in an oven or a toaster oven till you see the cheese start to bubble, remove, let cool a little and enjoy. I cut my two pieces in half so I had 4 pieces altogether.

Go the extra mile and pair it with a salad or soup. My fav soups to pair this with are classic tomato soup (Trader Joe’s creamy tomato soup is delish!) or Trader Joe’s sweet potato bisque.

If you like grilled cheese sandwiches and how to put different spins on them, you will want to check out Grilled Cheese Social. This grilled cheese sandwich is inspired by one shared on there and I plan to try her other GC variations on there too.

Stay creative.

2 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch:: Open Faced Grilled Cheese

  1. This is cheesy bread at my house, but we use a garlic butter from Wegmans. Good stuff, I opt out of cheese but this is our Saturday afternoon special. Never tried it with soup, good idea!

Leave a Reply

