Brunch Bites:: French Toast & Eggs for One


I was in the mood for brunch this morning. I had some Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Tuscan Pane left that if I didn’t use soon, I’d have to throw it out and thought I’d fired up the stove and make some french toast with it and some simple scrambled eggs.

EASY FRENCH TOAST (using almond milk)

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Almond milk
  • 1 Tbs Butter
  • 1/4 Tsp Cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla extract (optional)
  • 2-3 slices of bread (any kind of bread will do. I used Trader Joes Tuscan Whole Wheat Pane because I wanted to use the last of it before it went bad.)
  • Maple syrup (optional)

I whisked the almond milk, vanilla extract, cinnamon and eggs together. I then melted the butter on a griddle (you can also use a large frying pan) on medium heat. Once butter was melted, I dipped the bread, one a time, into the egg mixture (make sure it is coated well on both sides; the bread should be wet). I applied the coated bread to my griddle and  browned on both sides. When bread was cooked well on both sides, I plated and enjoyed with syrup.

Note this recipe is enough for one person. If you were making this for more than one person, you would want to increase the recipe. I know most of us know this but some, err, don’t. Have fun trying different kinds of breads. You see I didn’t use the usual bread and I hear french toast can be delish with french bread also.

The eggs are just simple scrambled eggs. I add a little almond milk to my eggs before cooking to yield fluffier eggs. If I weren’t lazy and had went to the grocery store, the fruit I would have paired with this would have been strawberries and chunked pineapple.

Stay creative and eat well.

Leave a Reply

